Open Letter to Prince

Dear Prince,

I remember my father taking me on car rides, back when I was around 7 or 8, and playing 80’s and 90’s tunes the whole time. He would dabble from The Black Eyed Peas, to Biggie, Michael Jackson, and I didn’t know it then but you were in those pool of songs too.

I remember hearing Kiss for the first time. I was hooked,  your high pitched voice, the guitar riffs (which ended up inspiring me to want to play guitar), and of course the lyrics! My young ears hadn’t heard anything like it. Your music was one of a kind to me.

You died on a Thursday.

A regular day, for a not so regular man.

I had gotten home from a long day of running errands when I first heard the unbelievable news. Scrolling down my Twitter timeline I saw TMZ tweet about your passing. Upon seeing it I chuckled nervously. No way, TMZ, ya’ll need to get better fact checkers or something, and stop playing, I thought to myself. Then I refreshed my timeline, and CNN had tweeted the same thing. My jaw dropped. There’s no way…

I rushed to find my remote control, frantically fumbled my fingers to press the correct buttons to switch the TV on to the local news channel.

Iconic Minnesota Musician Prince Pronounced Dead at 57.

But you were so young.

As if this wasn’t enough evidence, my denial takes a hold of me and I flip through other news outlets just to be sure.

Prince Dead at 57.

But you took care of yourself!

Prince Dead: Singer Dies at 57.

But how could you leave us so soon…

Upon hearing the news of your passing, my heart sank, and my thoughts were just brimming with complete denial. I guess in the back of my mind, I thought you were immortal. An ethereal being, an element. You didn’t die, you just turned your back and returned to the universe. Booked a show in another dimension… anything but the abruptness, the finality that comes with death.

I don’t have to go into detail about all the awards, or songs you’ve made, in order to convey or measure the impact you made onto the world. The pain and soreness that I feel after hearing you’re gone, along with the rest of the world, speaks for that.

You helped heal and make the world a better place with your art and music. By just being you, you’ve helped so many people overcome their adversities of feeling left out, overlooked, and out of place. You have helped people like me who feel like they don’t fit in, to not care about it. To be unapologetically themselves, a lesson that will resonate for generations to come.

R.I.P Prince. Thank you.

future » Vancouver Ticket

 

“Some say a man ain’t truly happy, til’ a man truly dies. Oh why?”

-Prince

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

