#IStandWithMalika

Yesterday, April 8th 2016, Malika Anderson, posted this article here on WordPress: https://malikaspeaks.wordpress.com/

The article speaks about her encounters with Ian Connor.. I’m not even sure what to call him.. is he a rapper? stylist? whatever. In this account, she goes into details about how Connor assaulted her after only hanging out 3 times.

You should read the whole article, but if you can’t, here is the nitty gritty of it all:

“He was literally begging to eat me out and he said “we don’t gotta fuck, I just wanna eat it. I wanna eat your soul out girl” blah blah. And I was just like “nah I’m good” but he kept begging. Eventually, I gave in. I said “fine you can give me head”. Then he said “lemme eat it from the back”. So I layed on my stomach and pulled my pants down about halfway, the rest of my clothes were still on. He was fully clothed. He started to give me head. About 2 minutes later I felt his bare penis thrust inside of me. I was shocked and didn’t know what to do and then I pushed him off of me and I was like wtf. And he says “your pussy is wavy. We should’ve did this a long time ago. We could’ve been dating” and I saod “wtf I told you I didn’t want to have sex and you just did it…” And he says “so you tryna say I raped you” and at the time I hadn’t even processed what had just happened and I was like “I dont know”.”

“I went to get tested the next day because nothing felt right about what happened. I was confused and in denial. On October 9th, I got my test results back and I found out he had given me gonorrhea. Curable. But still. I was devastated and that’s when it all finally hit me. I didn’t want any of what had happened but he just did it anyway and I had to deal with the consequences. He didn’t penetrate me with consent. He raped me.”

Now any educated, sensible, rational minded person with the least amount of common sense could tell you that from the information given in this excerpt, you can assert that what occurred is in fact, rape.

However, the article caught like wildfire and spread across the internet, and it seems that most of Ashy Twitter had some very differing (also very wrong and hurtful) opinions.

Capture

Mind boggling that teenagers and adults who are HAVING SEX wouldn’t have this readily availble knowledge, but yes… you’re terribly mistaken. Pre-ejaculatory fluids can cause infection as well.

Capture

Only 8% of rape allegations prove to be false. That’s not a lot at all. So statistically speaking, the chances her lying are pretty slim. Also, clout for what?? from who??? Ian Connor???? #WHOISIANCONNOR ?? Also, what person would really put themselves out there like this for… money? The backlash of victim shaming is nothing to toy with.

Capture

This way of thinking is hurtful and detrimental, and most of ALL MAKES NO SENSE.

It doesn’t matter what she did before because it was CONSENSUAL. Consent on one occasion DOES NOT give way to consent the next time. Each event is a separate.

For example: Say a friend asks you if you want some tea one day and you willfully accept and drink alllll of the tea. Then the next day your friend asks you the same thing, and you’re really not in the mood for the damn tea, would YOU WANT your friend to force the tea down your throat? Of course not. You said no. Same thing applies here.

Seems to me that Ashy Twitter has this disturbing train of thought that if a person is famous, that they are suddenly just incapable of rape due to the “loads of women” fawning over them.

This logic is terribly incorrect. Rape is about power, not necessarily sex.

Here are some disturbing tweets from Connor himself.

Capture.PNG

I’m getting disgusted chills down my spine reading this. This sounds like an egotistical, entitled idiot who feels as though he deserves a woman’s body after doing something for her. Newsflash, just because you’re “nice” or “buy us things” doesn’t mean we owe you anything. Not our time, our breath, and especially not OUR bodies.

Capture

The fact that you could even joke about something like this is very telling of your character.

But wait, I’m not even done.

Capture

Annnnd another one.

Capture

And to top it all off, here’s an except from an interview Connor did with Viper Magazine.

Capture

I think it’s safe to say that we are dealing with a sick minded person here, who clearly needs help.

Victim blaming is NEVER okay. No means no, and that means that rape is not subjective. We need to better educate our youth, both girls and boys so that we can stop breeding such idiotic opinions and ways of thinking about this.

Rape is not always a stranger overpowering a woman in a dark alley in the middle of the night, rape can happen when you’re in a relationship, with someone you’ve known for years. Rape is not always forceful like we see in the movies. If a woman is fully naked, laying next to you and as a man your ready to get to it, (and vice versa) if she says NO, it means NO!

If you’re really out here trying to defend Ian Connor I suggest you look closely within yourself and reevaluate a few things. If this had happened to anyone close to you (Mom, sister, aunt, girlfriend) I’M SURE your stance would be a tad different.

#IStandWithMalika

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

