Album Review: Anti by Rihanna

Standard

 

I’ll start off this review by saying that in the past I was never really a big Rihanna fan. I only caught wind of her more popular songs *queue Pon de Replay and Bad Boy*. I’ve always liked her as a celebrity and of course a fashion icon.

So, with all of the hype surrounding the much-anticipated ANTI, and the drop of the albums first single Work,  I finally decided to give in and give the entire album a good thorough listen, and let’s just say Rihanna did not disappoint.

ANTI, the 8th studio album by Rihanna was released on January 28th 2016. It has 13 tracks.

I’ll break this down by describing my favorite tracks off the album.

Consideration, the first song on the album, features TDE songstress SZA is a dreamy, song that you could smoke too (not that I do, but if I did), as well as James Joint, which really captures Rihannas sultry seductive voice accompanied by a simple yet lovely backdrop of sounds. Love on the Brain and Higher are both powerful, soulful tunes that invoke emotion, and are almost impossible to not belt out to and try to match Rih’s notes. Yeah, I Said It is a way too short bop about a lusty relationship with no titles, and Kiss it Better is reminiscent of a 80’s ballad. Oh, and of course let’s not forget the dance-hall inspired hit that nobody can resist wining their hips too: Work.

What I gathered from listening to this album is the many different stages of life that Rihanna has gone through. Heartbreak, flings, a missed connection, and a comeback. The songs are mostly all relatable and I think this is what makes a good album.

The album cover art is a picture of her as a little girl. My interpretation is that this album is setting the tone for the rest of Rihannas’ career, she’s going through a metamorphosis and this album is just the tip of the iceberg.

Overall, I really, really enjoyed this album.It’s been on re-peat since I decided to give it a listen about a week and a half ago. You should too, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

I give this album a 4.5/5.

Leave a Reply

